ADVERTISEMENT

Feature Sunday Blog: 2024 NCAA Football Coach Grine

J Grine

NMPreps Hall Of Fame
Staff
Oct 31, 2010
Rio Rancho
It’s been one week since my son Parker and I started playing EA Sports NCAA Football, each of us on our PS5 and Xbox. We transformed our living room into a true man cave, setting up both TVs side by side and playing on the couch. I haven’t played video games this much in over ten years, but I dedicated an entire week to playing non-stop between work and his football practice. We stayed up until 1:30 a.m. the first night—I was a zombie at work the next day! Normally, I go to bed at 8 p.m. almost every night, or 8:30 if I want to stay up late. Anyway, this blog is about my tenure as Offensive Coordinator (OC) to Head Coach (HC) over five years.

Year One: OC at Alma Mater New Mexico (Record: 7-6 overall)
After a terrible start going 2-4, I got bullied (by my son) into playing on All-American after starting the first two games on varsity, winning against Maine. I went on a little run and made a bowl game, beating Oregon State. I frequently passed to Luke Wysong, making sure he became a Mountain West Conference (MWC) Player of the Week a few times!

Year Two: OC at New Mexico (8-5 overall)
I improved in year two, despite another 2-4 start, with losses to USC and UCLA and a terrible conference loss to Nevada. I was up 28-7 in the third quarter and lost. I should mention I only play offense and use 3-minute quarters. I stayed at UNM despite a few opportunities elsewhere. Made another bowl game beating Navy.

Year Three: HC at South Florida (10-3 overall)
I took my first head coach job at South Florida, and boy, did I go on a run! I finally had a QB who could pass the ball, achieving several 300-yard passing games. However, I still threw two or three interceptions a game. Lost my bowl game though.

Year Four: HC at South Florida (12-1 overall)